Save the date! 13-23.06.2024, Łódź, Poland Save the date! 13-23.06.2024, Łódź, Poland Save the date! 13-23.06.2024, Łódź, Poland Save the date! 13-23.06.2024, Łódź, Poland Save the date! 13-23.06.2024, Łódź, Poland Save the date! 13-23.06.2024, Łódź, Poland Save the date! 13-23.06.2024, Łódź, Poland

Open Call 2024

An Open Call for Fotofestiwal Open Program gives you an opportunity to present your works to the audience of the International Festival of Photography held in June 2024 in Łódź (Poland). We are looking for artists with exceptional personalities and projects which present bold visions. The call for entries is open – with no thematic or age limits. We invite specialists from the world’s most important media and photographic institutions to join the jury. From among the submitted projects the jury will select six which, in cooperation with the curators of Fotofestiwal, will be presented in the form of an exhibition.


The submissions are closed. We received over 1200 projects. Thank you very much!


– Emmanuelle Halkin, independent curator and editor
– Fernanda Prado Verčič, co-founder and director of Kranj Foto Fest
– Ilaria Campioli, curator of the Musei Civici in Reggio Emilia
– Franek Ammer, organizer and curator of Fotofestiwal
– Krzysztof Candrowicz, art director, researcher, curator of Fotofestiwal

What winners receive

You can send your questions on:

About the festival

Fotofestiwal was established in 2001 as one of the first photography events in Poland. Since then it has grown into one of the most relevant photographic festivals in Europe but its core mission has not changed: presenting photography in its various ways (via exhibitions, films, slideshows, workshops etc.) but also talking about important social issues and introducing the unobvious beauty and unique history of our city to the audience. For such reason we organize thematic exhibitions in various post-industrial spaces, which Łódź is well known for, we put stress on networking parties – (we are quite famous for those), but also every year we try to develop new ways of talking about photography: via events such as Photo-Match: Completely Different Portfolio Review, during which we focus on having equal status granted to the curators as well as artists, with formula of presentation that numerous festivals are applying worldwide now with a success. Since 2016 we work as a collective, with no board of directors, developing a new way of cultural institution management.

Edition 2023 will take place in Łódź in June.


Lavinia Parlamenti and Manfredi Pantanella – “An Atlas of Countries That ‘Don’t Exist’“ / Italy

Marcel Top – “Reversed Surveillance” / Belgium/UK

Peter Pflügler – “Now Is Not The Right Time” / Austria/Netherlands

Adrien Selbert – “The Real Edges” / France

Tomasz Jan Kawecki – “In Praise of Shadow” / Poland

Camilla de Maffei – “The Great Father” / Italy


2023: Santiago Escobar-Jaramillo, Chloé Milos Azzopardi, Agnieszka Sejud, Ngadi Smart, Gabriele Cecconi, Io Sivertsen,

2022: Mateusz Kowalik, Mahe Elipe, Mathias de Lattre, Balázs Turós, Cemre Yeşil Gönenli, Santanu Dey,

2021: Federico Estol, Colin Delfosse, Irmina Walczak, Rafael Heygster, Helena Manhartsberger, Robin Hinsch, Sima Choubdarzadeh

2020: Jorge Fuembuena, Kata Geibl, Mate Bartha, Marcel Rickli, Shelli Weiler, Katarzyna Wąsowska i Marianne Wasowska

2019: Hayley Austin, Federico Clavarino & Tami Izko,  Anastasia Mityukova, Anaïs López, Gloria Oyarzabal (nagroda Grand Prix Fotofestiwal, Simone Sapienza,

2018: Miia Autio, Dieter De Lathauwer, Natan Dvir, Garrett Hansen,  Jaakko Kahilaniemi, Diana Lelonek, John MacLean, Alexandra Polina (nagroda Grand Prix Fotofestiwal), Farshid Tighehsaz, François Vermot,

2017: Alexandra Lethbridge, Andrea & Magda, Dominika Gęsicka, Ge Zeng, Jerome Ming, Loulou D’aki, Oliver Tooke, Viacheslav Poliakov, Vittorio Mortarotti & Anush Hamzehian, Wojciech Grzędziński,

2016: Carlos Alba, Sanne De Wilde, David Fathi (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal), Nick Hannes, Patryk Karbowski, Birte Kaufmann, Karolin Klüppel, Jewgeni Roppel, Shadman Shahid, Yurian Quintanas,

2015: Costilhes Cyril, Anna Grzelewska, Naomi Harris, Tito Mouraz, Sarker Protick, Mateusz Sarełło, Delphine Schacher, Jiehao Su, Patrick Willocq (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal) Ksenia Yurkova,

2014: Michel Le Belhomme, Antoine Bruy, Elena Chernyshova, David Favrod (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal), Kirill Golovchenko, Marie Hudelot, Adam Lach. Agnieszka Rayss, Marlous Van der Sloot, Renhui Zhao,

2013: Anja Bohnhof, Bahak, Jan Brykczyński, Karl Burke (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal), Frank Herfort, Lucia Herrero, Nadav Kander, Emilio Pemjean, Ilona Szwarc,

2012: Stefan Bladh, Eran Gilat, Yoshi Kametani, Jakub Karwowski, Tomasz Lazar (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal), Lorena Morin, Vittorio Mortarotti, Isabelle Pateer, Egor Rogalev, Elena Saenko, Anastasia Taylor-Lind, Nigel Bennet,

2011: Agata Witkowska, Alfonso Alemndros Jaen, Ivan Mikhaylov, Jérémie Souteyrat, Leon Foggitt, Markus Henttonen, Miloushka Bokma, Pascale Peyret, Rebecca Dagnall, The Milena principle & Stefaan van Biesen, Evgen Zaluzhny,

2010: Ditte Haarlov Johnsen, Diana Ronnberg, Dominika Sadowska, Fred Huening, Juliana Krizova & Jakub Vlcek, Katrin Trautner (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal), Libby Rowe, Łukasz Skąpski, Martin Bogren, Max de Esteban,

2009: Andrej Balco, Carlo Gianferro, Christien Jaspars (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal), Christoph Burtscher, Edgar Martins, Elis Hoffman, Kay Westhues, Marja Pirilä, Paweł Olearka, Peter Puklus, Susana Raab, Symon Kliman,

2008: Eric Vazzoler (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal),

2007: Arja Hyytiainen (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal),

2006: Andreas Pein (Grand Prix Fotofestiwal),